Are you always asking yourself why there aren’t more hours in the day?  Take a look at the top 5 apps I recommend for being more productive at work.

App #1:  Evernote

Kill the clutter with this organizational note-taking tool.

What It Does:  Evernote is an app you can use to not only take notes and sync them between multiple devices, but also archive those notes and share them with colleagues and friends.  Evernote has become my new pen and paper.  Instead of using an average of one notebook per month to collect all my notes from meetings and to do lists, I use Evernote to record and organize my thoughts.  You won’t find me rifling through piles of paper anymore and with Evernote I never have to worry about running out of ink!

App #2:  Focus Lock

When everything is a distraction and you just need to focus.

What It Does:  Focus Lock (only available on Android) is an app that allows you to put all the buzzes, lights, rings and dings of your phone on hold in 25 minute increments.  This allows you just enough time to get into your work flow and then provides a 5 minute break so you can reconnect and sync up with some things you may have missed so you don’t fall behind on what’s happening in your work world.

App #3:  ETA – travel app

Trying to beat the rush?  Know your ETA with ETA.

What It Does:  I’d say Google maps is the second best thing since sliced bread, the first being the ETA app.  We’ve all been in those situations where it’s an unfamiliar city and you’re trying to find the location of your next appointment.  The trickiest part?  Navigating traffic. ETA takes out some of that stress and you are able to be more productive by not over or under estimating the amount of time you need to get to your next destination.  ETA will keep you on point.

App #4:  Pandora

With soothing sounds of the ocean or classic rock this app will help you get into your work flow.

What It Does:  When you need to put the constant chatter of your colleagues on mute while you get that report finished, use Pandora.  Blast your favorite Rolling Stones tunes or have the soothing sounds of Mozart lull you into your productive sweet spot.   My personal pick when I need to get things done?  Smooth jazz.  It’s a station I recommend you try at least once.

App #5:  Fitness Pal

Because what you eat and what you do does matter.

What It Does:  Fitness Pal tracks your calories, exercise, nutrient and water intake. It also connects you to friends and support communities, AND makes you eat breakfast in the morning.  Okay, maybe not that last part – that’d be too good to be true – but all the other things yes.  Fitness pal is one way I track what I eat to see what’s giving me the most bang for my buck.  Do you have pasta for lunch and then feel a mid-afternoon slump creeping up on you?  Maybe a salad is a better option for suppressing hunger and avoiding the drop in blood sugars.  Nothing can ruin productivity more than fatigue or hunger.

Try implementing these apps into your daily work routine and let me know what they do for your productivity!

