Hi everyone, I’m Maddie, The HON Company’s summer marketing intern. Welcome to my first blog post!

My summer internship will be broken into three-week segments and by August 10th, I will have completed a twelve week program. I am able to “dip my feet” into four different areas of HON’s marketing department and experience various facets of the marketing field. My first segment involves working with the Marketing Content team.

My additional rotations involve working within eMarketing, Merchandising, and Channel Loyalty departments. Each of my four segments is led by team managers who will help guide me throughout my summer projects. I’m very excited to dive into the marketing side of HON and learn all I can in the upcoming months. I am fortunate to be a part of an organization where all ideas and opinions are received and I am proud to say I have not once felt like, “the intern.” Everyone has been very welcoming and helpful!

Top 3 Highlights of HON so Far!

1. Intern Orientation-Bring on the Newbies: On Tuesday, May 29th all HNI summer interns met for an introductory orientation held at Allsteel Headquarters. After learning basic rules and policies, we were able to meet each other and learn about everyone’s different internship titles, living arrangements, and plans for the summer. The internship program has grown since last year and everyone seems eager to begin!

2. NeoCon! : I recently learned I will be able to visit HON’s showroom in Chicago June 4th and 5th of next week to help set up and prepare for NeoCon. I’m very excited to contribute to one of the world’s largest tradeshows in the largest commercial building, The Merchandise Mart. I’ve toured HON’s Muscatine showroom and I can’t wait to witness how the innovation and aesthetics are similar/different to the Chicago showroom.

3. Brainstorming/Feedback session: On my first day at HON I was able to sit in on a meeting where different members of the Marketing department gave their feedback on possible examples for a new catalog cover. It was very interesting to observe different levels of creativity and understand the balance between pushing imagination while still effectively selling HON products to its customers. Some members favored differing styles but everyone was very open and respectful which made me comfortable to offer my feedback when asked. I enjoyed contributing thoughts to a group discussion as well as viewing creativeness from opposite ends of the spectrum.

Looking forward to what the summer will bring!

